Lionel Messi Wins FIFA World Best Player For The 6th Time

Lionel Messi wins the FIFA World Best Men Player for the 6th time, breaking another record to be the first player to do so. Lionel Messi of Argentina/Barcelona defeated Netherlands and Liverpool defender Virgil Van Dijk and Cristiano Ronaldo of Portugal/Juventus to clinch the FIFA Best Men’s player of the year award.

Messi, who also voted for Sadio Mane as The Best player in the world along with fellow rival Cristiano Ronaldo and team-mate Frenkie De Jong.

Ronaldo surprisingly settled for ex-Ajax defender and his current team-mate at Juventus Matthijs de Ligt – omitting Messi entirely from his top three. Whereas Van Dijk picked Messi to win the award.

Lionel Messi The World Best

“its a special night for me, I want to thank those who decided to give me this recognition,” said Messi.

“The most important thing for me is the collective awards, but today is also a very special night for me.” said Messi.


The most important thing for me is the collective awards, but today is also a very special night for me.
Lionel Messi

Messi who was the highest goal scorer in the Champions League last season with 12 goals as Barcelona reached the semi-finals where they were beaten by Liverpool.

Money’ A Spiritual Force, The More You Give It Out, The More You Get

The Argentine scored 36 goals to win the European Golden Shoe, plus the La Liga title with Barcelona, bronze at 2019 Copa America and scored 54 goals in 58 games in all competitions.

Ronaldo won the award in 2016 and 2017, was absent from the ceremony but he did show himself on social media via instagram, posting an image on Instagram of himself at what appeared to be his home.

He accompanied the picture with a message that translated to: “Patience and persistence are two characteristics that differentiate the professional from the amateur. Everything that is big today has started small. You can’t do everything, but do everything you can to make your dreams come true. And keep in mind that after night always comes dawn.”

For the female FIFA World Best U.S. co-captain Megan Rapinoe won the women’s top award after helping her country to the World Cup title this year in a tournament considered to be a milestone in the development and expansion of women’s football internationally.

“I’m at a loss for words,” she said. “This was an incredible year for women’s football, for those who just noticed you are a bit late to the party. It truly was incredible, to be part of the World Cup, the enthusiasm we had was amazing.”

Jurgen Klopp was also named  the FIFA World Best coach at the 2019 FIFA Football Awards.

The 52-year-old former Borussia Dortmund boss beat  Pep Guardiola of Manchester City and Mauricio Pochettino of Tottenham Hotspur to win the award.

In his acceptance speech, Klopp who earned the award for guiding Liverpool to their sixth European Cup triumph as well as winning the Super Cup said : “Sorry,” Klopp said. “Wow… it’s quite heavy.”

“What can I say? I have to thank a lot of people and start with my family, it’s great.

“No one would have expected this, 20, five, four years ago. We all know what an incredible job you (Mauricio Pochettino) and Pep did.

“I have to thank my outstanding club Liverpool FC, to the owners and my team.

“You can only be as good as your team. I’m lucky to have such an incredible bunch of players.”

Votes were counted from the world’s international captains, their managers and a selected media personality from each country. Each individual is required to pick three candidates, with their top choice earning five points, their second raking in three points and the third-placed player one point.


Men’s player: Lionel Messi.

Women’s player: Megan Rapinoe (USA).

Men’s coach: Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool).

Women’s coach: Jill Ellis (USA).

Goalkeeper: Alisson (Liverpool.

World XI: Alisson (Liverpool); Matthijs de Ligt (Juventus), Sergio Ramos (Real), Virgil Van Dijk (Liverpool), Marcelo (Real); Luka Modric (Real), Frenkie De Jong (Barcelona); Kylian Mbappe (PSG), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Eden Hazard (Real), Ronaldo (Juventus).

Fair Play: Marcelo Bielsa and Leeds.

Puskas Award for best goal: Daniel Zsori (Debrecen).

Fans award: Silvia Greco (Brazil).

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *